Winners of the 2011 CFDA Awards

Alexander Wang, Proenza Schouler and Prabal Gurung win big

Winners of the 2011 CFDA Awards

Photo by Getty Images

Last night, America’s fashion elite gathered in New York for the annual CFDA (Council of Fashion Designers of America) Awards, that honours top talents in design, as well as pays tribute to those who have led the way. Here’s the list of the night’s big winners:

Womenswear Designer of the Year: Jack McCollough & Lazaro Hernandez for Proenza Schouler
Menswear Designer of the Year: Michael Bastian
Accessory Designer of the Year
: Alexander Wang

Swarovski Award for Womenswear: Prabal Gurung
Swarovski Award for Menswear: Robert Geller
Swarovski Awards for Accessory Design: Eddie Borgo

International Award: Phoebe Philo for Céline
Media Award: Hilary Alexander
Fashion Icon Award: Lady Gaga
Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award: Marc Jacobs

Click to see our 10 best dressed from the night’s purple carpet