The Dorchester Collection Announces New Judges

An it-list of elite fashion players make up 2011's jury

The Dorchester Collection Announces New Judges

Photo by Getty Images

Chairwoman Bronwyn Cosgrave announced today an it-list of elite fashion players who will act as judges for the 2011 Dorchester Collection Prize. Fashion editors and street-style stars Giovanna Battagila and Shala Monroque, scribe-about-town Derek Blasberg, Vanity Fair contributing editor Elizabeth Saltzman and Moda Operandi founder Lauren Santo Domingo have all signed on. Lucky contestants will also receive feedback from the jury’s two design stars: Thom Browne and Calvin Klein’s Fransisco Costa.

This esteemed committee will be responsible for selecting a designer worthy of the $40,000 reward and chance to present their collection during Paris Fashion Week 2012 at Hôtel Plaza Athénée. Last year’s recipient, Montreal’s own Thomas Tait, has seen his own star soar thanks to both the endowment and priceless mentorship.

“It shaped him,” says Cosgrave on Tait’s trajectory. “I created this prize really to push fashion forward.” She also has an important message for local designers looking for industry support. “It’s open to Canadian designers and I really went out of my way to get Canadians in on this. It’s so important,” she adds.

So, fancy yourself the next Thomas Tait? Apply here before May 31st.