The CFDA Announces This Year's Nominees

Wang, Proenza and Marc go head-to-head for Womenswear Designer of the Year

The Council of Fashion Designers of America have named their contenders for this year’s top honours. CFDA president Diane Von Furstenberg announced the nominees last night, along with Nadja Swarovski, whose company underwrites the event.

Marc Jacobs, Alexander Wang and Proenza Schouler, will go head-to-head for the Womenswear Designer of the Year award, and they are all double-nominees. Jacobs will also be awarded the Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award, while Wang faces the Schouler duo again – as well as Reed Krakoff – in the Accessory Designer category.

The CFDA is also applauding some up-and-coming design minds by nominating Joseph Altuzarra, Mary-Kate and Ashley Olsen, and Prabal Gurung for the Swarovski Award for Womenswear. The International Award deservedly goes to Phoebe Philo for her work at Celine, and the Fashion Icon Award will go to style-setter extraordinaire Lady Gaga.

Congrats to all of the honorees and best of luck to the noms! 

For the full list, head to the CFDA website