British Fashion Council Announces NewGen Winners

New designers receive financial support for their AW 2012 shows

British Fashion Council Announces NEWGEN Winners

Photo by Anthea Simms

The British Fashion Council‘s Fall 2012 NEWGEN winners have been announced, and Canadian Thomas Tait is among the talented group. The New Generation “talent identification scheme” exists to offer financial support to offset fashion show costs for up-and-coming UK-based designers. These designers also have access to the BFC Catwalk Show Space, business and mentoring support, as well as introductions to influential press and buyers. For the past decade, the enterprise has been sponsored by Topshop, and at London Fashion Week this February there will be numerous celebrations to honour the company’s long-time involvement.

Since the creation of NEWGEN in 1993, recipients have included Alexander McQueen, Matthew Williamson, Julien Macdonald, Christopher Kane, Marios Schwab, Richard Nicoll, Erdem, Mary Katrantzou and Meadham Kirchhoff.

The Full List of AW 2012 Recipients:

David Koma
Holly Fulton
J. JS Lee
JW Anderson Women
Michael van der Ham
Simone Rocha

Christopher Raeburn
Thomas Tait

Nasir Mazhar
SISTER by Sibling

Huishan Zhang
James Long
Lucas Nascimento
Tim Soar Women