Toronto International Film Festival 12 Lands Rachel McAdams, Keira Knightley & Kristen Wiig

Major fall films among the over 60 titles announced for the Toronto International Film Festival.

TIFF Toronto International Film Festival

Photo by George Pimentel

You’d be forgiven for mistaking the Toronto International Film Festival’s 2012 lineup with a preview of fall’s most anticipated films. With few exceptions they’re all here: Keira Knightley’s re-team with her Pride & Prejudice and Atonement director Joe Wright on Anna Karenina, Derek Cianfrance’s Blue Valentine follow-up The Place Beyond The Pines (where Ryan Gosling met girlfriend Eva Mendes), Hunger girl Jennifer Lawrence’s latest The Silver Linings Playbook. There are even a few surprises sneaking onto the schedule—filmmaker Terrence Mallick will show his follow-up to The Tree of Life, the Rachel McAdams/Ben Affleck drama To The Wonder, while Kristen Wiig will debut her first big post-Bridesmaids film with Imogene. Noticeably absent: Ryan Gosling and Emma Stone’s crime drama Gangster Squad, Paul Thomas Anderson’s Scientology scrutinizer The Master and Clint Eastwood’s baseball drama Trouble With The Curve. But with a list like this, film fans will have plenty of choice.

Anna Karenina – Joe Wright
Argo – Ben Affleck
At Any Price – Ramin Bahrani
The Attack – Ziad Doueriri
Byzantium – Neil Jordan
Capital – Costa-Gavras
Caught In the Web – Chen Kaige
Cloud Atlas – The Wachowskis and Tom Tykwer
The Company You Keep – Robert Redford
Dangerous Liasons – Hur Ji-Ho
The Deep – Baltasar Kormakur
Dormant Beauty – Marco Belloccchio
Dreams For Sale – Nishikawa Miwa
End Of Watch – David Ayer
English Vinglish – Gauri Shinde
Everybody Has A Plan – Ana Piterbarg
A Few Hours Of Spring – Stephan Brize
Foxfire – Laurnet Cantet
Frances Ha – Noah Baumbach
Free Angela And All Political Prisoners – Shola Lynch
Ginger And Rosa – Sally Potter
Great Expectations – Mike Newell
Hannah Arendt – Margarethe Von Trotta
The Hunt – Thomas Vinterberg
Hyde Park On Hudson – Roger Michell
The Iceman – Ariel Vromen
Imogene – Robert Puccini and Shari Springer Berman
The Impossible – Juan Antonio Bayona
In The House – Francois Ozon
Inescapable – Rubba Nadda
Jayne Mansfield’s Car – Billy Bob Thornton
Kon-Tiki – Espen Sandberg
The Last Supper – Lu Chuan
A Late Quartet – Dustin Hoffman
A Liar’s Autobiography – Ben Timlett, Bill Jones and Jeff Simpson
Looper – Rian Johnson
Lore – Cate Shortland
Love, Marilyn – Liz Garbus
Midnight’s Children – Deepa Mehta
Much Ado About Nothing – Joss Whedon
Mr. Pip – Andrew Adamson
No – Pablo Larrain
Outrage Beyond – Takeshi Kitano
The Perks Of Being A Wallflower – Stephen Chbosky
The Place Beyond The Pines – Derek Cianfrance
Reality – Matteo Garrone
The Reluctant Fundamentalist – Mira Nair
A Royal Affair – Nikolai Arcel
Rust And Bone – Jacques Audiard
The Sapphires – Wayne Blair
The Sessions – Ben Lewis
The Silver Linings Playbook – David O. Russell
Tai Chi O – Stephen Fung
Thanks For Sharing – Stuart Blumberg
Thermae Romae – Hideki Takeuchi
The Time Being – Nenad Cicin-Sain
To The Wonder – Terrence Malick
Twice Born – Sergio Castellitto
Writers – Josh Boone
Venus And Serena – Maiken Baird
Zaytoun – Eran Riklis